Thursday, April 8, 2010

SharePoint Authentication Modes

Both WSS and MOSS support a set of zones that allow accessing a web application using different URLs. Each URL is pointed to a zone. Primary benefit of having multiple URLs for a single web application is to have different authentication mechanisms implemented at each URL. For example, one URL could be used to access the site internally using Windows Authentication while other one could be configured to use Forms authentication for outside world who are not part of the domain (AD).

SharePoint allows the following authentication modes

  • Windows authentication using NTLM or Kerberos
  • Forms Authentication
  • Web Single Sign-On
  • Active Directory Account Creation mode
    • Primarily used by Internet Service Providers (ISPs) who support large constituencies that are not members of the hosting domain.


No comments:

Post a Comment